Experience Music Experiment
  • Publisher : Leuven University Press
  • Release : 19 August 2021
  • ISBN : 9789462702790
  • Page : 288 pages
  • Rating : /5 from voters

Download or read online book entitled Experience Music Experiment, was written by William Brooks and published by Leuven University Press in pdf, epub and kindle format. This book was released on 19 August 2021 with total pages 288. “Truth happens to an idea.” So wrote William James in 1907; and twenty-four years later John Dewey argued that artistic experience entailed a process of “doing and undergoing.” But what do these ideas have to do with music, or with research conducted in and through music—that is, with “artistic research”? In this collection of essays, fourteen very different authors respond with distinct and challenging perspectives. Some report on their own experiments and experiences; some offer probing analyses of noteworthy practices; some view historical continuities through the lens of pragmatism and artistic experiment. The resulting collection yields new insights into what musicians do, how they experiment, and what they experience—insights that arise not from doctrine, but from diverse voices seeking common ground in and through experimental discourse: artistic research in and of itself.

American Sabor

American Sabor Author: Marisol Berros-Miranda,Shannon Dudley,Michelle Habell-Palln
Publisher: University of Washington Press
Relase: 2017-12-19
ISBN: 9780295742632


Music Author: Rudolf Steiner
Publisher: Rudolf Steiner Press
Relase: 2016-07-22
ISBN: 9781855844810